Comprehensive Guide to Domain Name Types: What You Need to Know

Comprehensive Guide to Domain Name Types: What You Need to Know


Table Of Content

      - Overview of  domain types

      - Six different Types  of domain

             1. Top-Level Domains (TLDs)

             2. Country Code Top-Level Domain (ccTLD)

             3. Generic Top-Level Domain (gTLD)

             4. Second-Level Domain (SLD)

             5. Third-Level Domain

             6. Premium Domain

      - How domains work     

It’s true that all domains don’t work in a similar fashion, and being acquainted with the difference between the various types can be important, when a website is designed. For illustration, some domains are reserved for specific kinds of sites, while others have distinctive implications which must be kept in mind always.

Luckily, there are ways you can tell which domains are suitable for your site, and which should be avoided.

In this blog, we will go over what domains are and how they perform, and also we will discuss the diverse domains, and provide a word of advice for choosing the right one.

Let’s get to work!

How Domains Work

By typing in a URL or entering a search query in Google, anything can be found online This process typically feels prompt, making it easy to be ignorant of what’s going on behind the scenes.

Think of the domain as an easy-to-remember phone number for the site, if at all you want a clear picture of what’s going on while you visit a website. In many scenarios, businesses will constitute their phone numbers as letters to make them easier to recall, such as 1-800-call now.

Domains follow the same basic principle-Each website is stored on a server with an Internet Protocol (IP) address, such as that is the principle all domains follow. IP addresses are difficult to remember, since they are merely a string of numbers.

Six Different Types of Domains

Moving ahead before registering for a domain, its necessary to understand the various options that are accessible to you. Keeping that in mind, let’s flip over different domain-related terminology you are likely to come across.`

1. Top-Level Domains (TLDs)

Each website’s URL can be snapped down into different fractions. Top Level Domains often called domain name extensions, are the part that comes after your primary domain name-for instance, the .com in

There are many other TLDs besides just .com. you can choose from multiple options, such as .net, .blog, or .io -which was initially a country code but has since been co-opted for the tech community. 

2. Country Code Top-Level Domain (ccTLD)

As we touched base earlier, there are actually multiple types of TLDs. For instance, country code top-level domains (ccTLDs) are restricted to use in precise countries.

Keep in mind that if you are aiming for an international audience, this kind of TLD can be a bit limiting.

3. Generic Top-Level Domain (gTLD)

Up next on the list are Generic Top-Level Domains -gTLDs. Even if you have never heard the term. These are the old reliable domains that we are all accustomed to seeing, such as .com, .edu, net and info, .org,

Therefore, when choosing a domain, you will want to think about what will perform best for your brand and your audience and pick memorable. Because at the end all you want is your website to be remembered by people so they come back again and collaborate for a long run.

4. Second-Level Domain (SLD)

At this stage the TLD section of your site’s domain name has been covered. But, what about the rest of the URL? That’s where Second-Level Domains (SLDs) come into action.

It’s always wise to begin by settling on an SLD, and then assessing and experimenting with different TLDs. You can also use our to see what’s currently available.

Enter in a domain name of your choice and hit the search button. You will be presented with multiple SLD and TLD alternatives, so you can settle on the perfect domain name.

5. Third-Level Domain

After looking at two of the three integral parts in any domain name-The last is agreeably known as the third-level domain. Remember don’t be confused with the top-level domain category!

By default, the third-level domain will always be www by default. and it always doesn’t work for cosmic companies which require a number of web pages. Hence you may sometimes see www1 or even www2 before the SLD in a domain name category.

6. Premium Domain

When you are on a hunt for a domain name, you will find that the one you want to have as your own is already being taken. Which exactly means -it’s a premium domain. Technically a domain owned by someone else.

The good part is- that you won’t have to give up on that domain. However, people will purchase domain names and not not utilize them. In a few scenarios they may even be willing to sell a domain they are using, for their desired asking price.


Choosing a domain name can be one of the most significant decisions you will make as a website owner. If you are running a business or planning to boost your website, your domain name can have a significant impact on your visibility and branding.